Testimonials

CUSTOMER REVIEWS ON AMAZON.COM

Goodwill Tour: Paying It Forward: 12 5-star, 4 4-star, 1 2-star

Turning This Thing Around: 25 5-star, 12 4-star, 2 3-star

 

–By Vonnie at “Vonnie’s Reading Corner” (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Uplifting” July 18, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“Many of us dream about going on road trips either solo or with a friend. Many others also dream about being able to make a difference in the world even if it’s one person at a time. In this book, Keith Maginn was able to do both. This was an uplifting book about Keith and his friend Emily embarking on a quest to visit a few parts of the United States as well as helping out strangers.

I very much enjoyed the concept behind Keith’s and Emily’s mission. It made me think about how I could contribute to society, even if it’s at a small scale. What I liked best was how Keith encouraged the reader to go out and explore right at the beginning:

“I hope this book inspires you to do something special. Maybe you will finally take that trip that you’ve always dreamed of; perhaps you will strive to have a positive effect in the life of a loved one, an acquaintance or a complete stranger. Either way, I challenge you to just get out and do it.”

Wow! I absolutely loved how he began with this note because it not only inspired me right away to travel, but he also prepared me to the type of adventure I was going to read in this book.

It was amazing to read how much of a difference he and Emily were able to make in a few days. Though they did not have a lot of money, the little they gave really helped out the people in need. It was also fascinating to read how many other people were eager to be part of the “Pay-it-Forward” project. These people graciously accepted Keith’s and Emily’s contributions and gave the donations to someone deserving. It was wonderful to know how many good-hearted people were out there.

As much as I enjoyed the journey that Keith described, I do admit that I wanted more. I wanted to read more about his emotions and his thoughts: to read more in detail about the travels. I wanted to hear from Keith instead of him citing other works to describe what was happening. Though the quotes that were used were excellent, it would have still been nice to hear from Keith himself. The preface, the letters, the afterward, and the scene with the first person they donated to were the perfect examples on the emotions and thoughts from Keith that I was expecting from this book. These were my favorite parts because I felt emotionally connected to the situations and I felt quite inspired. I wanted more of these.

Overall, this was a short book but it still had its punch. I absolutely love the idea behind this trip and I loved the idea of how small acts could still make a big difference. I expect to read more amazing adventures from Keith in the future.”

–By Marilou George at “Confessions of a Reader” (4.0 out of 5 stars): “The Joy in Giving” July 7, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“Author Keith Maginn gave us a poignant glimpse into his personal life in “Turning This Thing Around,” and with “Goodwill Tour” it is apparent that he has such appreciation for the help and guidance that he received, he has decided to pay it forward. One of his dreams has been to take a road trip with no destination and no specific time frame in mind. He enlists his friend Emily and although they only have 3 months for their adventure they plan on traveling 3,000 miles through Southeastern US.

The truly amazing part of their journey is that they set out to volunteer where needed and meet people along the way to help monetarily if need be. It is an enlightening story of two people totally invested, not in themselves, but in the needs of others.

I enjoyed meeting the people that they met and the circumstances of their lives as well as the places they visited. Their journey should be an example of how each of us, in our own individual way, can pay it forward. There is always joy in helping others in any way we can simply by putting the effort into being more in tune with the gratitude we have for our own lives and those that have helped us along the way.

This story is one that will encourage and uplift you. When you give of yourself to others in need, even in the smallest of ways, you will always receive back more than you have given.”

–By Kaytee (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Refreshing and Inspirational” April 25, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“This book takes you on a journey not only across the US to experience our beautiful nation, but also to fulfill a life dream of selfless philanthropy. Kudos to Keith and Emily for taking the step towards helping our fellow man. Even if you are not in a position to travel the country and donate money the people in need, this will at least inspire you to put a smile on your face and know that there are good people left in this world…”

–By Debb Stanton at Stanton Sunshine (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Wow!” March 26, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

“This author, Keith Maginn, has achieved a humble honesty in writing about his experiences, lessons learned, and the not-so-fun part of life: physical and personal problems. There is a depth of feeling and honesty in his writing that is so refreshing, and so hopeful, for the reader. Keith is the kind of person everyone needs in their corner. I felt wonderfully challenged and at the same time, given hope, while reading this book. Thank you, Mr. Maginn!”

–By Debb Stanton at Stanton Sunshine (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Outstanding read!” March 26, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“This is one of those books I just couldn’t put down! The author uses (or rather, personifies) a friendly tone that honestly draws you into the story. Keith’s excitement, joy, and sense of wonderment becomes your own. It was wonderful to have my questions about the “pay it forward” theme and a vacation trip with a purpose answered. By the time I finished reading the book, I had become a more loving person — a person with more hope for the human condition than I had had before. I highly recommend this wonderful adventure!” 

–By Melissa at Every Free Chance (4.5 out of 5 stars): “4.5 Stars” February 25, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

Did I enjoy this book: Friends, you know how I feel about writers who sneak poetry into their texts.  Well.  Maginn may not have changed my mind, but he’s almost certainly changed my heart.  I don’t want this to be another “blah-blah this book changed my life we have so much in common blah” review, so I’ll simply say this:  I understand.

If I were, say, a gal who’s struggled with mental illness my whole life, I’d give Maginn five stars just for having the cojones to put his story out there (mine, if you’re wondering, is safely tucked away in the back of my sock drawer).  If, though, I were the same gal, only one who also has experience with mentally ill loved ones, yoga, meditation, medication, psychiatrists, self-help books, and self-medicating, I’d say…

You’re brave, Keith Maginn, and although the writer in me takes issue with your gratuitous use of poetry and self-help book quotations, I’m going to let it slide because, well, you’re braver than I am.  Well done.

Would I recommend it: Yep.  Go for it.  You’ll finish it in an evening, and you’ll learn a little something in the process.

Will I read it again: No, but I’d like to have a coffee (and/or a margarita) with Mr. Maginn.”

–By Bil Howard at Readers’ Favorite (5.0 out of 5 stars): February 7, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“Getting a crazy idea to do something completely out of the box, Keith Maginn and his friend, Emily, plan a road trip through the southern United States. Their memoirs from the planning, the trip and feedback from the results are chronicled in Goodwill Tour: Paying It Forward, written by Keith Maginn. Emily, having done an excellent job at promoting Keith’s book, seemed like a wonderful person to help organize and carry out a trip that just kind of fell into place. As they toured the southeastern states, they talked about the people they encountered and the things that they experienced as they enjoyed an unforgettable fifteen-day trip. Along the way, they gave money to people who seemed to be deserving and would be likely candidates for paying it forward and continuing a chain reaction. Finally, Keith records the responses and feedback from those who had received the money and how it multiplied itself in ways far beyond what they had planned.

Though the interesting things that Keith and Emily enjoyed on the way made for a good story, the highlights to Goodwill Tour: Paying it Forward are the reactions and the feedback that they received. What they discovered and what Keith Maginn records is that people are always eager to help out their fellow man if given the opportunity. Encouraging, inspiring and at times entertaining, Goodwill Tour: Paying It Forward will not only leave you with a smile on your face, but a warm feeling in your heart and the desire to want to follow the example set by these two crazy people.”

–By Stacie at BeachBoundBooks (4.0 out of 5 stars): January 20, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

“Turning This Thing Around is a moving account of the author’s life and his inspiring quest to overcome a combination of personal challenges.

Readers are given a first hand look into the life of Keith Maginn as he details his thoughts, feelings, and various attempts to “cure” his problems. Eventually, Keith meets Mary and they fall deeply in love. Mary struggles heavily with mental illness and although Mary and Keith believe their love will be enough to see them through, it is the ending of their relationship which starts Keith on a path to healing.

I liked the open and honest nature of Keith’s story. I found his struggles compelling and the fact that he forged ahead even when things looked bleak reminded me that we all have the will to survive.

On the road to recovery, Keith has learned a great deal and continues to be enlightened everyday. In an attempt to give others hope, he shares his ordeal and the steps he has taken to ensure he, and others, enjoy a life full of good health and happiness. I recommend picking up a copy of Turning This Thing Around.”

–By Vicky at Deal Sharing Aunt (5.0 out of 5 stars): “This is a great memoir and it gives hope to all those affected by personal and health issues” January 20, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

“What I liked most about this book was the way the author wrote it. He was telling his story, and not judging. He had a lot of issues and he was just trying to help people realize the same symptoms. I would love to see a sequel where we learn more about Mary. I applaud Keith for all he did for Mary and I wonder how many other couples are living out there with the same problems that never get help. I am so happy that Keith gave his Doctor’s name so that as others read this book that have the same ailments, or know someone who does, know where they can get help. This is a great memoir and it gives hope to all those affected by personal and health issues. I am giving this book a 5/5.”

–By Teresa at Authors & Readers Book Corner (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Starting Over” January 17, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

“This straight to the point memoir shares the truth about obstacles that one man endured but had the courage to overcome. In Turning This Thing Around by Keith Maginn readers will learn about the many obstacles the author faced. Mr. Maginn dealt with arthritis disease, depression as well as helping his girlfriend through mental illness. The first part allows readers to learn a little about Keith Maginn the human being, the person and his life.

Mr. Maginn then shares in the second half of the book the tools that he implemented to heal from everything trying to hold him back. This author does not keep anything from his readers, which allows readers to root for him by the end of the book. Mr. Maginn is a strong man who renewed his faith by learning to forgive and believe in his healing. This was a short but powerful book that will inspire readers as well as minister to their hearts. I recommend this book to others…4 Stars=Great Page Turner”

–By Elita (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Raw and Real…Refreshing” January 13, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

“A personal story that captured my heart, and kept me in suspense – wondering and waiting as I turned each page. I found myself walking along with the author, feeling his pain, cheering him on, hoping for the best. Keith has been brave to share his own experiences and intricately weaves his poetry and great quotes from others throughout the book. His story is one of hope, with practical help for others as he shares his story of overcoming.”

–By “Amazon Customer” (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Good news!” January 5, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“This book and the shared experiences of the author and his companion, is exactly what the spirit needs to be reminded of the goodness in people! It also validates the challenges that people in all communities, rural, urban, North or South, are forced to deal with on a daily basis. It is my hope that paying it forward is here to stay, and I look forward to hearing more warm stories from people like Keith, who dare to make a positive difference, by allowing others to join the journey!”

–By Marilou at Confessions Of A Reader (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Courageous & Inspiring” January 4, 2014 [Review of TTTA]:

“Keith Maginn has written a memoir pulsating with the realities and challenges he faced coping with debilitating anxiety and depression while outwardly trying desperately to hide it. When he realizes that this is something that he needs help to get through only then does he ask for it. This is a success story of how you can personally fight to find a resolution and seek the necessary help to do so.

This book also brings to light the struggles that a person with severe depression experiences on a daily basis. The Author also relates to the reader how he is affected by his girlfriend’s difficulties coping with her own problems as he desperately tries to keep going. You are reminded that you can’t fix others until you yourself are unbroken.

I am a person who suffers from depression and anxiety and was able to relate to this on a very personal level. I believe that it is hard for people to understand and relate to a person who suffers from these conditions. The common phrases is “Just get over it” and believe me I wish it was just that simple, but is not. It is a process, as conveyed in this book, of self-discovery and not feeling shame but being brave enough to seek the help you need.

This is a courageous story of being honest with yourself and demanding the help that you need. It is a story of great despair and ultimately taking control of your life and getting on a path of self-discovery and health.

I highly recommend this book as it is truly an inspiring story.”

–By Charlie (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Highly recommend” January 1, 2014 [Review of GWT]:

“A short, concise, to-the-point book. In a world where negative news always seems to take priority, this “paying it forward” mentality reminds us of the good in humanity. I was able to read it in a single sitting and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an inspirational read.”

–By Carrie at Literal Evaluations (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Start as you mean to go on” December 29, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“As New Year 2014 approaches, Goodwill Tour, could just be the book you’re looking for to start as you mean to go on. If you are someone who makes New Year resolutions, perhaps you could take inspiration by Paying it Forward yourself. There’s nothing like a feel-good buzz to send you on your way.

Goodwill Tour is all about, just that, a long trip through America by two friends with one goal on their minds: to give money to special individuals who would then give it to others (hopefully!) of their choice. You would think that it would be relatively easy to donate money but even this one kind act created its own difficulties. This is a fact that is very hard to believe that could possibly be a barrier.

Keith Maginn, along with his female friend, Emily, embarked on a trip of a lifetime; a brave and challenging journey that would push them to the limits of their patience, as they learnt more about each other and, ultimately, come face to face with hardworking and deserving people.

Goodwill Tour is a short book which is perfect for curling up on the settee for the afternoon, as you see in the coming of the New Year.”

–By Marina at Library Cat (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Well done” December 28, 2013 [Review of TTTA]:

“Depression is a horrible disease. It can be triggered by bad events in life, but it can also be triggered by a disbalance of chemicals in the brain. It affects not just the person who suffers, but his/hers entire family and friends. Depression doesn’t kill you, but it can make you kill yourself.

In Turning This Thing Around, Mr. Maginn tells his story, his own journey through the disease. Without any makeovers, he simply tells the truth, the way he survived. He still struggles with depression, but there is light at the end of the tunnel. The story is fullfilled with citations of famous self -help books, which complements the story well. I could easily feel the pain the author struggles, he is so honest about the things that happened to him.

This isn’t a story from the type “Eat, Pray, Love”, it is not fullfilled with glorious journeys around the world. Even that I loved that book, and Mr. Maginn citates quotes from it, this is totally different. It is well written memoir that describes author’s struggles in life and love, a story for trying to keep the head above water. He describes not just his disease, but its connection with physical pain that he suffered in years.

I’ve never had any personal experience with depression. But I have medical education and I know what depression is. Reading this memoir can help you get the advice you need, so give it a chance. It is good to know that you are not alone. Depression is long-term fight that you have to win.”

–By Katie at Doing Dewey (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Well written, moving, relatable, and lots of fun :)” December 11, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“While many of us dream of taking an unscheduled road trip and many of us dream of making the world a better place, author Keith Maginn did both. With his friend Emily, he traveled through the Southeastern US with stops to volunteer and give away money to deserving strangers. In Goodwill Tour, Keith tells their story and the stories of those they helped.

I was a bit nervous starting this because it had no Goodreads reviews. This meant that my opinion would be the only opinion and what if I didn’t like it? I would feel pretty bad. So I was thrilled when I could tell within the first few pages that this book was going to blow me away.  The author’s description of family car trips and his longing to just drive around the country really resonated with me. The writing reminded me of classic adventures like The Swiss Family Robinson in which the writing is plain but still has a poetic ability to speak to the human spirit.

My only complaint about this story is that it included many quotes and many descriptions of food for such a short book. In general though, the author’s use of quotes and detailed descriptions worked for me. I liked that  the author included a number of e-mails he and Emily exchanged. I also enjoyed the personal idiosyncrasies, the rough patches, and the small details he shared. Together these things brought the story to life and made me connect with the author and Emily as real people. I feel a bit strange saying that about non-fiction since it is real, but fiction or non-fiction, not every author can achieve that!

Actually I lied… I do have one more complaint. I wanted more! I loved the way the author wrapped up, with thoughtful but not sappy reflection on his trip and the people they helped. I thought the whole thing had great emotional impact and packed a punch for such a small book. That said, I enjoyed this book enough that it could have been twice as long and it only would have made me happier.”

–By Charlene at Literary R&R (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Written With Heart” November 16, 2013 [Review of TTTA]:

“Mr. Maginn bares his very soul inside the pages of this book. This no-apologies memoir gives the reader insight into his life and mind during the course of several years, and a myriad of health issues, and personal loss. There is nothing fancy here, only a true desire to speak the truth as he knows it.

Sharing how he sunk into despair, and ultimately rose from it, Mr. Maginn explains in simple terms, and occasional quotes from other well-known authors, how he made the choice to overcome his pain, and the exact steps he made to achieve healing.

I read this in one sitting, not only because of its brevity, but also because of the sheer heart with which it was written. I could feel the empathy he has for others, as well as his desire to become a better person. Anyone suffering with illness or self-esteem issues will benefit from reading this book. I wish Mr. Maginn luck in his future endeavors. I do not believe he is done trying to make the world a more whole, healthy place.”

–By Carrie White (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Turning This Thing Around” October 23, 2013 [Review of TTTA]:

“It’s hard, no one can deny that. The experience of living and coping with mental health problems can test the patience of most compassionate people. However it can also be the most rewarding with regards to our own selves. The author gives just one view of a life dealing with this most testing of conditions; his own. But it is a poignant story, a respectful account of his lovers’ difficulties coping with her own demons coupled with influences from outside.

Unfortunately, mental illness does not distinguish between class, age, sex or whether you have other conditions to contend with. Throughout this memoir, the author is also ill with physical and mental conditions, which increases the burden and stresses on their relationship. Can it possibly survive? If it doesn’t, should we then be considered a failure?

There is a question to be answered here, apart from those asked above: Would I use the information it contained to help my own mental health problems? No, I would not and, yes, I do have them, so I feel I am qualified to say. The brain is a very complex organ and there are way too many variables, even with known diagnosed conditions, for books of this type, to be placed in the genre of self-help. After all, there are only so many ways you can say to someone to, ‘Seek help’, ‘Explore your faith’ or ‘Talk to others’.’ Don’t get me wrong; this memoir can give anyone who reads it, a valuable insight into how a life can be set onto the right path towards hope of something better when faced with Depression and/or other mental health conditions. It can also dispel that sense of loneliness that many of us feel when confronted with testing situations. That, in itself, is of great comfort and help to those of us in similar positions. But, ultimately, that need to survive must come from inside of you.

The author has written a very moving account of a period in his life that needed help and resolution. It is a personal story told with clarity in a style that is not at all patronising or pretentious. It is, in fact, just one way of how you can turn things around successfully.”

–By Ashley LaMar (3.0 out of 5 stars): “Review from Closed the Cover” October 14, 2013 [Review of TTTA]:

“Turning This Thing Around by Keith Maginn is half inspiring memoir of overcoming personal struggles and half self-help about overcoming depression. As such I was only able to connect with half of the book. The half of the book where Maginn tells his deeply personal account of struggle and depression was challenging and sad; the half of the book where Maginn offers advice and tells about how he worked through his depression left me feeling disconnected. Readers who struggle with depression may have a warmer and more positive response to this book as the advice may reach them in a way it did not reach me.

There was much of Maginn’s early story I was able to identify with either through personal experience or by association with someone who had a personal experience – the undiagnosed medical condition, a relationship with someone with bipolar disorder, depression. Maginn was direct and honest when explaining how he lived outwardly happy but yet inwardly miserable. He wanted to be happy, he tried to be happy yet he could never quite reach the point of true happiness or contentment. When he couldn’t reach it himself he tried to help Mary. He tried to help Mary overcome her demons and struggle with bipolar disorder and, when he couldn’t, he himself fell deeper into depression. It was sad to read about how others problems led Maginn deeper into a downward spiral that could have easily cost him his life had he had not had the support of family and close friends.

In many ways, it was a hard read as Maginn tells of his struggles and his need for help. I felt emotionally pained for Maginn and sorrowful for his struggles. When he finally reached a point where he cried out for help and found people there ready to stand by him, it was a tender moment.

My disconnect came during the second half of the book when Maginn begins to discuss how he overcame his depression and started to heal. I felt joyful reading that Maginn was able to climb out of his spiral of depression yet I was unable to consider or evaluate the advice he was offering. I have never personally struggled with depression or any sort of similar disorder therefore I read over these passages without any real investment into the words. I appreciated Maginn’s story but wasn’t able to share in the experience.

It is a good read for anyone who could relate, on a personal level, with Maginn’s struggle. There may be sound advice in here for those who are working their way through personal struggles.”

–By Don Miller (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Excellent, honest book” May 12, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“Short, concise and to the point book. A must read for anyone who enjoys paying it forward. Recommendation – BUY IT”

–By L. Evans (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Can I come next time?” February 24, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“This book is refreshing. The author and a friend set out on a journey to see some of our country and to help people along the way. The book is part travelogue, part inspiration, all honest and all fun. Maybe it will inspire readers to pay it forward as well. The world could use a lot more people like Keith and Emily!

–By Sarah (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Excellent read for all!” February 3, 2013 [Review of TTTA]:

“Keith has done an awesome job creating a self help memoir to not tell others how to change their lives but to inform us with what worked for him and to encourage everyone on a positive path. After reading Keith’s book I’m inspired to make positive changes for myself and don’t feel so alone anymore. Thank you Keith. Congrats on a great book.” 

–By Meg (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Refresh your heart” January 28, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“The perfect mash-up between The Motorcycle Diaries and Pay It Forward, Goodwill Tour reminded me of the impact one act of kindness can make. I read it and wondered “Why aren’t there more people doing this?” With no motivation aside from making the world a better place, the author and his companion brave the open road, and find kindness in unexpected places. A great book to cure your fear of giving.” 

–By Dersh (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Hats Off” January 22, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“My hat is off to the author for chasing a lifelong dream and spreading humanity. This book is a great illustration of the wonderful country we live in and the good that can be achieved when people come together to serve others.”

–By Mindy (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Goodwill Tour: Paying It Forward” January 18, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“This is a great book! It reminds you that there really are good people left in this world, and it’s not all about “Me”.

Two people set off on a journey to help others, people they have yet to meet. They not only set out (on short notice) to do good for others, they have fun along the way. It really is a good book that shows you that anyone can Pay It Forward on a large or small scale. Every little bit helps!

If by chance you missed Keith’s first book, “Turning This Thing Around” you might as well order that book as well!

It is an excellent book about the author and his journey through life. It makes you laugh, cry, and most importantly both books can make you be a better person! Good Luck with your next book Keith! I’m sure you will do well!”

–By Kela (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Delightful and Inspiring” January 9, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“You can’t walk away from this book without feeling both in awe of what Keith and Emily did and fully motivated to do some good yourself. They just set off – rather last minute – to see places they’ve never seen and to help people they’ve never met – purely because they can!

Keith has a talent for making the reader feel a part of it all too. His writing style is so friendly you feel like you’ve just bumped into an old friend who is catching you up on his latest adventures.

I dare you to read this book. The feeling you get from it won’t leave after you’ve read the last word. You’ll feel a small little tickle (or a big ole’ push!) to…well…Pay-it-forward!”

–By Shirley (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Good news!” January 5, 2013 [Review of GWT]:

“This book and the shared experiences of the author and his companion, is exactly what the spirit needs to be reminded of the goodness in people! It also validates the challenges that people in all communities, rural, urban, North or South, are forced to deal with on a daily basis. It is my hope that paying it forward is here to stay, and I look forward to hearing more warm stories from people like Keith, who dare to make a positive difference, by allowing others to join the journey!”

–By Kela (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Freakishly Honest” December 12, 2012 [Review of TTTA]:

“I finished the book in a couple of hours. It’s freakishly honest (that’s a compliment) and its an easy read. Not many people have the guts to let their skeletons out of the closest. Not only does Maginn let his out…he lets them dance around and be their messy selves. You walk away from “Turning This Thing Around” feeling less embarrassed by your own hidden secrets and with empowering notion that there is always a way out.”

–By Amy Kline (5.0 out of 5 stars): “An Amazing Story” December 5, 2012 [Review of TTTA]:

“Like other reviewers I also read this book in one sitting. I was at actually at a loss for words when I finished reading it, I wasn’t sure if I’d even begin to be able to convey how it effected me. The authors strength to rise above difficult times and strive to improve his life, as well as his courage to tell his story in order to help others, truly amazes me. I have already recommended this book to several friends and will continue to recommend it to others.”

–By C. Nemeth (5.0 out of 5 stars): “A must read!!!” May 15, 2012 [Review of TTTA]:

“I read from cover to cover in one morning…couldn’t put it down. Inspiring story that gives hope to anyone struggling to push through.”

–By Alison (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Inspiring” March 28, 2011 [Review of TTTA]:

“I really enjoyed reading your personal journey. It took a lot of courage to share your story after so many years of keeping silent. I am ready for the next book! :)”

–By Mike (4.0 out of 5 stars): “Good News” March 14, 2011 [Review of TTTA]:

“The author of “Turning This Thing Around” is exceptional in his openness and willingness to relate a very painful time in his life. He takes the reader through his feelings of despair, hopelessness and frustration to his realization that he must find a different path for his life. After much soul searching, studying his own heart and mind, he learns difficult lessons and finally reaches the peace of mind he has struggled so hard to find. Readers may find helps for themselves in working through their own emotional turmoils.”

–By Joe B (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Turning This Thing Around” March 3, 2011 [Review of TTTA]:

“This book is a wonderful read that truly can help. It comes from the heart and from experience. I was able to use Keith’s experiences to immediately start making changes in my own life. This is a book you can read at different times in your life. I believe it will help you during this journey we call life. I can’t wait for your next book.”

–By L. Evans (5.0 out of 5 stars): “An Uplifting Read” February 26, 2011 [Review of TTTA]:

“I bought this in Kindle and decided to buy a hard copy when I saw it was out. I found this book to be uplifting. Despite the author’s many trials and tribulations, he has found a way to change his life for the better. In the process of healing emotionally and physically, he has learned a lot about himself and has found a way to look on the bright side of things. You’ll find yourself pulling for him and wondering what his next book might be about!”

–By Pollard (5.0 out of 5 stars): February 23, 2011 [Review of TTTA]:

“A very difficult book to write I would think. The author did a fantastic job painting a picture of the swarming abyss. I was impressed how the author shows us the resources and strategies that worked for him in an effort that something he has endured or done may work for another. I have recommended this book to others.”

–By Brian (5.0 out of 5 stars): “inspirational” December 31, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“Well written, easy to read. He does a good job of not crossing the thin line of asking for sympathy for his many issues he had to overcome. A very inspirational story that will help anybody that reads it be a better person. Cant wait to read his next book.”

–By L. Evans (5.0 out of 5 stars) “An Uplifting Read” December 30, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“I found this book to be uplifting. Despite the author’s many trials and tribulations, he has found a way to change his life for the better. In the process of healing emotionally and physically, he has learned a lot about himself and has found a way to look on the bright side of things. You’ll find yourself pulling for him and wondering what his next book might be about!”

–By William J. Inskeep (5.0 out of 5 stars): “A Good Review” December 24, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“This is truly a book that will inspire one and all. The author shows a lot of courage and perseverance as he works through numerous obstacles in his life. Instead of whining and making excuses he keeps moving forward, trying new things, and never gives up. He is truly an inspiration to me, and I am sure that anyone who reads this book will agree.”

–By R. G. Chandler (5.0 out of 5 stars): “A book that focuses on the solution, not the problem” December 18, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“Outstanding memoir. I think its awesome how this author, Maginn, is humble enough to share his personal experiences, good and bad, in order to benefit others. This book is powerful, and it offers real solutions to real problems. The writing is clear and organized, and it reads like a personal conversation. This is not a “step-by-step, you must do it this way” instruction type of book. Rather, it is a “This is what I’ve gone through, these are the things that worked for me, these are the things that didn’t…” one human being helping another kind of book. I loved it. I can’t wait to see it in hard-copy so that I can buy several copies and strategically leave them in places where the down-hearted might find them, and might benefit from Maginn’s suggestions. If you’ve never struggled in life’s darkest places, I’m sure that you’ve at least had a loved one who has. In consideration of that, I’d recommend this book to any and all readers. It’s a jewel.”

–By Jason (5.0 out of 5 stars): “A Can’t Miss” December 17, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“Turning This Thing Around” is a daringly honest account of the difficult experiences of a young man in his 20s. It details how the author dealt with the pressures and burdens of everyday life, as well as numerous afflictions, and relationships. For me this book is very motivational, inspiring me to try some of the same methods the author used, to improve my own life. It also offers a great deal of perspective to whatever personal battles you may be fighting. It is a great read and I highly recommend it to anyone.”

–By Trinity (5.0 out of 5 stars): “we all need to turn things around” December 17, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“This book is filled with so many emotions. The author really takes you to another place. Its witty, sad, and very inspirational. I highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for change, and strength.”

–By Joe M (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Incredible” December 16, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“Powerful and inspirational. This is one of the best books I’ve ever read. The author tells a candid story about the struggles he has dealt with in his life and the steps he has taken to overcome them. I think anyone who reads this book will be able to relate to the trials and tribulations experienced by the author and learn simple and effective ways to confront these challenges and live a more meaningful life. Thank you Keith for sharing your story.”

–By Dersh (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Well Done” December 16, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“I too read this book in one sitting because I was unable to put it down. “Turning This Thing Around” is a seamless combination of a personal narrative and a self-help book (that actually helps). The author has clearly studied many forms of modern and traditional medicine/therapy and shares what has worked for him in an admirably honest, and occasionally humorous, way. I hope this is the first of many books by Keith Maginn.”

–By Terry (5.0 out of 5 stars): “A Must Read” December 15, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“”Turning This Thing Around” is one of the most inspirational and moving memoirs I have ever read. The writer, very courageous and brave, carries his readers along his journey in a heartfelt and eye opening way. Dealing with life’s trials and tribulations, he digs down deep within himself, in times when most would give up, and finds the courage and strength to persevere. This memoir has amazing and great potential to help others cope and find strength when life deals a difficult hand. I have and will continue to highly recommend this book to everyone!!!”

–By Nance (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Inspirational reading” December 15, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“I read this book in one sitting because I could not put it down. The author was able to explain the challenges in his life in a clear, matter of fact style. Then, without any self-pity, take us with him through the steps to his current status. He never really asks “Why me?”. There’s no rage, just a methodical step by step journey through a young man’s twenties. It’s insightful and encouraging. I can hardly wait to read the next book by this author.”

–By Dan (5.0 out of 5 stars): “A Very Good Book” December 15, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“All I can say is… WOW. I really enjoyed reading about the author and his thought process looking back over all of the struggles he’s endured – and how he took matters into his own hands to turn everything around. The thing that resonates with me (as I imagine it will with anyone who reads the book) is the universal theme the author presents about dealing with hard times. There’s a lot to learn from his experience about the emotional aspects of adversity and, more importantly, how someone can look within themselves to try to work though the hard times and overcome them.”

–By Jennifer (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Great read!” December 15, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“What a great, motivational read for anyone who has experienced difficult times in their life. You are able to empathize/sympathize with the author and encouraged to make yourself a better you. I would recommend this book to anyone!”

–By Chris Torrence (5.0 out of 5 stars): “Powerful Stuff” December 3, 2010 [Review of TTTA]:

“I believe that this book truly has the potential to make a meaningful impact on those who read it. The author is candid, frank and honest with issues that the vast majority of us don’t even admit to ourselves, much less the world at large. A true God-send to anyone experiencing difficult times in their life, “Turning This Thing Around” has the potential to relay critical messages to people struggling to cope: they are not alone in their suffering and they can persevere as the author did. Never reaching out as a “woe is me” tale (as many do), the reader is able to see the true essence of the struggles the author has been working all these years to sort out. Thankfully eschewing overly “new age” or “touchy-feely” angles, the author does a fantastic job of relaying his own personal trials and tribulations in a way that is sure to resonate with its intended audience. A brilliant example of what this genre should be, and highly recommended.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s